Reminder for the JANUARY SPARTAN SPRINT

---------

From: Russ Carpenter (russ@natworld.com)
Date: Sat Jan 01 2000 - 11:46:55 EST


The January Spartan Sprint will be held on January 3, 2000 (which is our
standard date--the first Monday of the month). You may operate on any one or
more of five bands--80, 40, 20, 15, and 10 meters. Don't worry if your
station is a bit obese. We commend the winners in two categories--points
(the Tubby Division), and points per pound (the Skinny Division).

If you are a newcomer to the Sprints, take a look at the introductory
material at the end of this post.

1. Start at 9:00 PM EST, 8:00 CST, 7:00 MST and 6:00 PST. Finish at 11:00 PM
EST, 10:00 CST, 9:00 MST and 8:00 PST. In terms of UTC, start at 0200 and
finish at 0400.

2. The frequencies will be 3560+- kHz, 7040 kHz+-, 14060 kHz+-, 21060 kHz+-,
and 28060 kHz+-. (You may operate any number of bands--your choice.)

3. Exchange RST, SPC (state, province or country) and power output.

4. If you choose to call CQ, use the format "CQ SP," or "CQ QRP TEST."

5. You can take credit for working the same station on a second, third, or
fourth band.

After the contest, we invite you to use our autolog, which is part of the
ARS Sojourner. Just go to www.natworld.com/ars and follow the link for
"Direct access to autologs". Or you can speed things up by going directly to
the Spartan Sprint autolog page at www.natworld.com/ars/ss_log.html.

If you don't have access to the web, send Richard Fisher, KI6SN, an e-mail
with your total QSOs and the total weight of your station (i.e., the
combined weight of all transmitters, receivers, keys, keyers and batteries
used during the Sprint). You may also include your comments from the
soapbox. Richard's email address is ki6sn@aol.com.

We publish results for each Spartan Sprint on the Thursday following the
Sprint. This may be the world's quickest contest reporting! Please send us
your log as soon as possible, but in no event later than Wednesday
afternoon.

****************************

The Spartan Sprint is based on a simple but stimulating concept. We are
encouraging all of you to cobble together the kind of station you'd use in a
portable environment--lightweight transceiver, keyer, key, and battery. Then
put that turkey on the air, and participate in a two hour sprint.

All operators are invited to play, whether or not they are members of
Adventure Radio Society. Even if you don't have lightweight equipment, your
participation will be rewarding, both for you and the other participants.
We'll report the score in two different formats--absolute scores, and points
per pound of station weight. So you can get your kicks from running up a
magnificent score, or achieving an remarkable ratio of points per pound.

If you're thinking about becoming a member of Adventure Radio Society, just
send Richard Fisher (our membership chairman) an e-mail expressing your
interest. Richard's e-mail address is KI6SN@aol.com. Membership is free, and
the organization has a great group of men and women who combine their love
of ham radio with their affection for the outdoors. You don't need to be a
macho person; ARS welcomes people of all ages and levels of ability.

Russ Carpenter, AA7QU, Contest Manager

russ@natworld.com


Search QRP-L Archives

[ QRP-L Archive | ]
[ 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 ]

---------

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 on Fri Jun 02 2000 - 11:43:41 EDT

kd4ab@kd4ab.org